The Krestian kiosk

Helgeland's only preserved kiosk of the old type.

The iconic The Krestian kiosk, designed by an architect in Oslo, was built by Christian Christensen's father in 1921. The kiosk gave Christian the opportunity to work, despite his handicap. Customers were served through a hatch facing the main square. At the same time, they could have a chat with "Hain Krestian Kiosk".

When a major fire ravaged Hemnesberget in 1923, the kiosk was one of the few buildings left standing. It was in operation until about 1960, and was later used as a taxi center, tourist information and festival office, plus it was used by various teams and associations.

Hemnes municipality took over in 1990, and restored the building in 1993-94. After that, the kiosk was part of Helgeland Museum, until it was transferred to the Hemnesberget Vel in 2020.